Maria’s Guides

Support and additional material for readers of books, articles, and digital media by Maria Langer.


Random Book Cover #1Random Book Cover #2Random Book Cover #3Random Book Cover #4Random Book Cover #5Random Book Cover #6Random Book Cover #7Random Book Cover #8Random Book Cover #9

Beware of the Latest Scam

Posted on August 21st, 2007 at 8:05 am ·
Filed in: RSS Mac OS Books   

Confirmation e-mails from sites you never joined.

Yesterday, I got an e-mail message that went something like this:

From: [omitted]
Subject: Member Confirm
Date: August 20, 2007 9:05:49 PM MST
To: [omitted]

Welcome,

Thank You for Joining Web Cooking.

Confirmation Number: 769799922
Temorary Login: user4129
Password ID: qb371

Your temporary Login Info will expire in 24 hours. Please login and change it.

This link will allow you to securely change your login info: http://[IP address omitted]/

Thank You,
Membership Support Department
Web Cooking

Trouble is, I haven’t signed up for any Web site with that name using the e-mail address the message was sent to. And although the clickable URL was very tempting to check out — after all, I could have forgotten that I’d signed up for something — I was hot and tired and ready to call it quits for the day.

This morning, I got a very similar message sent to the same e-mail address from another site. That’s when I became sure that something was up.

You see, just the other day, I was listening to the Future Tense podcast while washing my helicopter. One of the stories was about the “Storm Virus,” which is being spread by e-mail. One of the ways they spread this virus is by sending you an e-mail with a link to a Web site. Idiots click this link and go to a Web page, which then takes advantage of security holes in the visitor’s brower to infect the computer. You’ve probably gotten one of these messages — they often lure you by telling you that someone has sent you an electronic greeting card.

Apparently, they’ve come up with a new way to lure you to a site.

So my word of warning here — do not click any link in an e-mail message you receive unexpectedly from someone you don’t know.

And if anyone else has more information about this virus or new series of e-mail spam cons, please do use the Comments link or form below to let us know. Thanks.

 • Read 185 Times
Add to Del.icio.usAdd to Del.icio.us • Technorati ThisTechnorati This • Digg ThisDigg This • Stumble ItStumble it! • Twit ThisTwit This


 

 

3 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Andy Piper // Aug 21, 2007 at 8:43 am

    I’ve had two of these this morning. Apart from my natural skepticism, two things tipped me off that they were scams - the IP (numeric) addresses in the URLs, and the fact that I received 2 at once with near-identical wording from different “sites”.

    My spam filter is usually pretty good, but these were obviously worded in such a way that they slipped through.

  • 2 Leanne // Aug 21, 2007 at 8:49 am

    Yep, got the “Web Cooking” e-mail. Since I practically live on fast food, that was an easy scam to spot. It was the “Bartenders Guide” e-mail that almost sucked me in… :-)

  • 3 Maria Langer // Aug 21, 2007 at 9:01 am

    After writing the post, I got three more nearly identical e-mails. Good think I didn’t get a “Martini Guide” one.

Leave a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

If you have a Gravatar, it will appear beside your approved comment.
No Gravatar? Get one free!